Spa Forums

The information contained in this forum is from SpaForums.Com and IS NOT AUTHORITATIVE advice or official commentary from Spa Shopper, SpaPartsNet.com or SpaBabes.com. Use this information at your own risk!

This topic has attachments which you can't view here. To see this topic in its entirety, Click Here

Hot Tube Shocks Me

Forums  >  FAQs, Tips and Help

Hot Tube Shocks Me
My hot tub has recently started shocking me. If I stand outside the tub on wet ground and I touch the water I receive a nasty shock. My local dealer says I have a bad ground. I'm not an electrician, but I was under the impression that the ground wire is only used if there is a short in order to prevent electrocution. Is it normal for current to pass over the ground wire?Thanks,Laramie
Posted: 2008-06-13 08:32:41   By: laramie
Re: Hot Tube Shocks Me
The spa is protected by a GFCI. The tech told me that he was able to hammer a grounding rod into the ground (duh) and it stopped the water from causing a shock. My concern was just that I thought current shouldn't normally pass over the ground wire anyway.
Posted: 2008-06-14 09:34:22   By: laramie
I have exactly the same problem. My electrician ( the guy that wired the install 4 yrs ago) thinks it's in the board.
Posted: 2008-06-16 09:17:58   By: bob d
Have you checked to see if perhaps one of your underwater lights has a bad gasket and is leaking? Many spas have a step-down transformer that reduces the voltage from 110/220 to about 12 volts. Not enough to kill you, but you will feel it. Anyway if the gasket is leaky, and floods the light housing, you are probably charging your water when your lights are on.
Posted: 2008-07-02 02:04:20   By: brianwitty